Why not?

I see yesterday the US Senate voted down four gun control bills. I won’t say that I’m “happy”, I think it would be more accurate to say I’m relieved.

I’ve said many times, I don’t care for guns and personally I don’t have any use for a gun. I don’t own one, never have owned one and, more than likely, never will own one. But just because I feel that way, that doesn’t mean that I think that no one should be allowed to own/posses one.

I’ve always thought it ironic, no one blames the automobile for the 38,300 traffic fatalities in 2016, nor do they blame the automobile for the 4.4 million severe injuries in accidents in 2016. But these same people blame the gun for the 13,432 gun related deaths and 27,008 injuries.

It’s not the car, it’s the driver. Just like it’s not the gun, it’s the person pulling the trigger.

Gun control, even if we remove guns from private ownership, will never equal “safety”. Criminals will always have guns. If, by some miracle, we were able to remove all guns from this country, killings will continue. Knives, hammers, rocks, rope, wire, electricity, drugs, needles, water, branches, bats, clubs, etc. in the wrong hands anything can be a murder weapon.

Leave a Reply

