Correction

In my very first post on this blog, way back on January 9, 2013, I posted my thoughts on what it would take and what I would do to “fix” the government.

I want to make a very profound correction.

My second point was, “eliminate the Electoral College”.

I want to correct that. I no longer believe that eliminating the Electoral College and electing the President by direct election would not be good or appropriate for this country.

Why? Because I now understand something about the college that I didn’t understand before.

You may say that my “change of heart” is because, without it, my candidate of choice wouldn’t have won the Presidency. That is partially true. I happy that Trump won but what this election opened my eyes to is that if the election would have been decided by popular vote then three areas would have controlled this country’s direction and destination for at least the next four years. There are 3,142 counties in the United States. Clinton won 487 of them (I don’t think the reports that Clinton only won 57 counties are credible).

The heavy hitters in California, New York, and the DC area, basically, the East and West coast of the country would have set direction we would be going.

I now understand the function of the electoral college. It’s there to help protect the majority of the nation from being controlled by a few densely populated areas.

The high population centers on the coasts basically ignore “middle America” now. That’s where the term “flyover nation” comes from. The “powers that be” fly east coast to west coast and totally ignore everything in between as irrelevant, after all, it’s just a bunch of rural “rubes”. I can only imagine what would happen if they were “power centers” that controlled governmental policy.

So I stand corrected. I now think the Electoral College is correct and appropriate for this country.

Leave a Reply

